AFR Awards State Scholarships

AFR Youth Program
staff photo

OKLAHOMA CITY— Twenty-nine Oklahoma youth were recognized as recipients of the 2023 American Farmers & Ranchers (AFR) Cooperative Statewide Scholarship.

AFR’s annual state scholarships are available to qualified students in all 77 Oklahoma counties. Students are eligible to apply for the AFR Incoming Freshman State Scholarship during their senior year of high school. Students may then apply for the AFR Continuing Education State Scholarship throughout their undergraduate career. Both previous and first-time applications are eligible for the AFR Continuing Education Scholarship.

“Our organization and our membership are committed to the future of the agricultural industry in Oklahoma,” said AFR Cooperative President Scott Blubaugh. “We are proud to provide opportunities for professional development for our state’s agricultural youth. This financial support is just one more way for us to invest in tomorrow’s industry leaders.”

Scholarship applications are selected by the AFR Scholarship Committee based on knowledge of the organization, AFR involvement, leadership activities, scholastic achievement and financial need. To be eligible for either scholarship, applications must have attended a minimum of two years of the AFR Senior Leadership Summit. They must also have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 and be an AFR Insurance policyholder.

AFR Incoming Freshman Scholarship Recipients:

Corbin Clark, Morris

Dax DeLozier, Adair

Ellen Schneider, Seiling

Hailey Suntken, Claremore

Jordan Jones, Idabel

Joseph McCullah, Beggs

Kaden Brunker, Perkins

Kaylee White, Rush Springs

Kelsey Wall, Grove

Kenton Jones, Marlow

Kinley Bratcher, Rush Springs

Kristany Travis, Marlow

Larahmy Blakely, Oologah

Sophie Varner, Bristow

Taylor McConnell, Wellston

AFR Continuing Education Scholarship Recipients:

Abbigail Long, Beggs

Abby Bell, Bristow

Cassidy Baughman, Lone Grove

Cooper Shebester, Alex

Elena Santiago, Frederick

Jace James, Altus

Jentry Squires, Kingfisher

Katelyn Blevins, Lone Wolf

Keegan Carrera, Shawnee

Kensington Kerbs, Shawnee

Paike McNiel, Bristow

Reagan Detrick, Ringwood

Seth Jackson, Tecumseh

Tala Gillenwaters, Mooreland

Scholarship recipients are announced June of each year and are recognized the following February during the annual AFR convention. For more information on AFR scholarship opportunities or other AFR Youth Program projects, contact AFR Youth Coordinator Tailor Atkinson at (405)218-5566 or [email protected].