AFR Delegation Presents Benjamin Franklin Award to Lankford, Hern

Press Releases
staff photo

WASHINGTON, D.C.—American Farmers & Ranchers (AFR) recently presented two Oklahoma legislators—Sen. James Lankford (R-OK) and Rep. Kevin Hern (OK-01)—with the National Association of Mutual Insurance Company’s (NAMIC) Benjamin Franklin Public Policy Award. The awards were presented in Washington, D.C., the week of Sept. 11, when AFR members were on Capitol Hill lobbying Congress on behalf of agriculture and insurance issues.

The Benjamin Franklin Public Policy Award is named for Dr. Benjamin Franklin, who was a dedicated public servant and co-founded America's first successful mutual insurance company.

The award is presented to federal legislators who demonstrate unwavering support and leadership on behalf of NAMIC members, insurance consumers and the property/casualty insurance industry. Only members who truly understand and support the industry, successfully protect the free and open market environment and work to facilitate the positive relationships between insurers and their insureds are considered for the prestigious award.

AFR Cooperative is a membership services organization established in 1905 as Oklahoma Farmers Union. AFR provides educational, legislative and cooperative programs across the state and serves as a watchdog for Oklahoma’s family farmers and ranchers and rural communities. The organization is actively supportive of the state’s agricultural industry and rural population with membership consisting of farmers actively involved in production agriculture and non-farmers adding their voice in support of AFR principles.